Thankful to the LORD

First something that has been laid on my heart are the prayer warriors and Christian that Have influenced my life.  My grandmother Marty was a woman who loved the LORD with all her heart.  She was truly someone you could follow for a day and see Christ in her.  I know for the years that she was with us and the years she was a christian that she was a true warrior for Christ praying to hear His path for her life.  I am so thankful for her influence in my life and how she raised her children to do the same.  I am blessed that my mother and father have walked down the same path as Marty, and how they have continually shared the love of the LORD with me.  It has encouraged me daily and has made me the man that I am today.

 

I have been reading a book called crazy love as well as my readings His word every morning and I am so excited with each and every statement.  My prayer for the Church and the world is that they know the love that I am learning to know.  I read the words of Francis Chan and I agree with them and am thankful that the LORD is working in me.  He says; “There is often a great disparity between how we feel about faith and how we are meant to feel.  Why do so few people genuinely find joy and pleasure in their relationship with God”?  I am so thankful that the LORD has shown me His joy and beauty in everyday life and I am praying that others and specifically those who are reading this find that very truth as well.

 

The book “Crazy Love” suggests reading Psalm 63:1-5 and I will write it down.

O God, you are my God, earnestly I seek you; my soul thirsts for you, my body longs for you, in a dry and weary land where there is no water.  I have seen you in the sanctuary and beheld your power and your glory.  Because your love is better than life, my lips glorify you.  I will praise you as long as I live, and in your name I will lift up me hands.  My soul will be satisfied as with the richest fo foods; with singing lips my mouth will praise you.

 

I could not write anything more true or as sweet and wonderful as what scripture so beautifully conveys in the Psalms.  My mind also goes to 1 Peter 1:3-25 I recommend that any one who reads this blog grabs a Bible and turns directly to it but I will share a few verses.  Verse 3 says Praise be to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ! In His great mercy he has given us new birth into a LIVING HOPE through the resurrection of Jesus Christ from the dead and into an inheritance that can never perish, spoil or fade.

 

I am encouraged by that verse because it is not just hope, but a living hope.  It is a hope provided by a living savior who knows our needs and our wants and He desires that we run into His arms and dwell in His glory and grace. If we only draw near to Him He will draw near to us.  A picture that wonderfully appears in my head is Christ just holding me in His arms and walking beside me and carrying me when I need His help.  I can think of no greater way to live a life than in His arms.

 

Another Powerful verse that just screams the beauty and Joy that we all should find in the LORD is Psalm 19.  That one I will let you read but it is a powerful example of how God can and should be seen in everything and everywhere.  I pray that we all as His created beings and will learn to see Him as a mighty God that loves and cares for us all.  I pray that all of us will run into His arms and let His love shine upon and through us all.  Thank you to those who are praying for me and if I can share more with you please email me at tmindrebo@gmail.com I would love to hear your prayers and joy that you find in the LORD but also I would love to share that love with those who don’t know it.  I promise that my next post will also give an update about what I have been doing in Kenya but these are some things that I have been learning and have been laid upon my heart so it would be wrong for me not to share and encourage you with it.


2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Sally Mindrebo on November 9, 2009 at 1:25 pm

    I read Ps. 19 and found it greatly resonated with me.

    Reply

  2. Posted by boo on April 29, 2010 at 3:59 am

    loved it back in november, still love it, and would love to hear more about how you are thinking now about some of these things. 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

