My Passion and My Prayer

 

So something I have been struggling with is writing updates and just writing in general. The LORD did not give me a passion for writing but He has given me passion. However, I know that the LORD has given me a lot of passion for life and I am not sure where that will take me but I will follow in His footsteps all of the way to the end. I read in Oswald Chambers “My Utmost for His Highest” “Never allow a truth of God that is brought home to your soul to pass without acting on it, not necessarily physically, but in will”. I have truly been learning so much while I have been here in Kenya and the majority of it all is just letting the LORD work through me. I am thankful that the LORD has granted to me me by faith a passion and a desire to wake up and draw closer to Him. I enjoy my morning where I draw to Him so much that I don’t want to go to work and I would rather continue to worship and draw near to His love and His WORD. I was reading today about two things, being a bond-servant for Christ and the Authority of Reality, the second I will explain more in detail in a second. Yesterdays verse was Galatians 2:20- “I am crucified with Christ; nevertheless I live; yet not I, but Christ liveth in me”. I read this and the LORD and my roommate convicted to write my thoughts down considering that even though I am not a writer Christ liveth in me and He wants His gospel spread.

 

I have been reading a book called “Daring to Draw Near”, by John White and I have from it been learning many wonderful things about prayer. The book goes through and picks out specific prayers throughout the Bible and what we should learn from it. Some of the various prayers are Abraham’s prayer to and petition to save Sodom and Gomorrah in Genesis 18:9-33 and Moses’ prayer to the LORD to save the people of Israel in Exodus 32:9-14, 31-32; and 33:12-23. Others include Job’s conversation with God and many more. I would recommend the book to anyone who wants to learn more about prayer and how we can communicate with our Heavenly Father. Through it I have been learning that we serve a mighty God who when we go to Him in prayer we need to be aware and reverent of His power and might but also petition to His love and mercy for our lives so that we may grow closer to Him. I have been desiring and learning to draw near in Prayer and I have loved every step of the way. I am learning to become a bond-slave to Christ and to quote Oswald Chambers, :The one point I decide is-I will surrender to Jesus Christ, and make no conditions whatsoever”. The LORD gives us many chances to surrender our lives to Him but He won’t make you take that step. I have been learning to take that step and I have loved every step that I take towards a greater faith in Christ.

 

I am daily praying that the LORD continues to work with me as I step towards his power, mercy and love. I have a great path to follow of many saints before me and many more beside me. I am a journeymen on a path for HOME and I can’t wait to finally get to Heaven where my true allegiance and home lies. I will be writing more has the LORD continues to work in my life. I am a warrior and a slave to Christ and I would serve no other master or fight under any other banner. I truly have loved and enjoyed the passion I have and a picture that continually comes to mind is the end scene in the movie “Glory”. In that film there is the final charge where Denzel Washington grabs the flag and encourages the soldiers to fight on and charge the fort. Ultimately they die but the fort was later won. I see myself as that man who will gladly grab the flag and charge the enemy. I will fight for my LORD till the end knowing that through Christ the Fort and the battle has already been won. So now I am learning to live each day as a charge where I run full force ultimately towards to goal of getting home to my Savior and I see no greater charge than that.

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by boo on November 5, 2009 at 6:05 am

    Amen brotha, thanks for sharing. And I encourage you to keep writing, not only for your own sake to process your thought and read them later, but also to testify about what God is teaching you, and God can use that to teach others (like blog readers 🙂 Press on!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

