My Adventures In Kenya

So I think i first need to apologize to any of you who might actually be checking website for new post, all three of you including my mother and me.  I am not passionate as I should be about writing down my experiences and would just prefer to move on to the next adventure than to write about it.

Life has been a blessing here in Kenya and I have been learning and growing through Christ quite a bit since arriving here.  I have been learning patience through the difficulties of building a program here in Kenya while I have also just been experiencing the power of prayer and learning more and more how i should pray.  I also have been growing in my faith, I know that the Lord has granting me more faith than when I came to Africa and I am praying that He will continue to add to that measure the longer I am here and then beyond my internship.  I am faithful that He will as long as I use what He has given me.

Since I last wrote God has blessed me richly.  I have had the pleasure of going on a safari trip through the masai mara where I got to camp directly in the park with a few friends and a tent.  It was the experience of a lifetime to see such beautiful animals and to hang out with a great group of guys.  I also have been working on building a low-ropes course here in Kenya for Tanari.  That is definitely where the Lord has been giving me patience.  My task has thus far been to build a legitimate ropes course with minimal tools as well as minimal funding.  It has been a fun adventure considering that everything is “pole pole” or slowly slowly here in Kenya.

We were supposed to have a bull dozer come a few weeks ago but since it is one of the slowest Kenyan Companies and the only one in the area, they are feeling no rush to perform.  So my new roommate Jim Luckey and I have been building what elements we can and will wait for the rest.

Jim Luckey has recently come to Africa to work with Tanari and has been my roommate for a few weeks now.  He is from Houghton, New York and we in fact knew each other when I attended their freshman year.  It is a small world and it has been a blessing to have him as a roommate in that we now are able to pray together and share what the LORD is doing in our lives and we try and closer to Him.

It has also been fun to talk about things going on in the U.S. and I have enjoyed having sarcasm in my life again, especially since there really isn’t any sarcasm here in Kenya.  We also have just enjoyed the difficulties of Kenya and being able to work through the crazy differences between working with a program in the States and working with a program here in Kenya.  Altogether I have enjoyed my life here and am excited to see what happens in the next 7 weeks while i am still here.

Some prayer request are for the camps  as we are approaching a busy time with camps and programs as we get closer to the holidays. Also pray that we will be able to build a low ropes course and that all of the supplies will be provided so that we can get work done.  Specifically pray that the Bull Dozer comes and clears the ground so that we can get to work.  Also just pray that I will be able to be helpful and that the Lord will bring Tanari, and myself as well, to a greater level of faith in Christ.

Thank you for those who have been praying it has been a blessing to know that there are those back home who are praying for me and my time here.  I would love to hear how any of you are doing and ways that I can pray for you and if you feel so inclined you can email me at tmindrebo@gmail.com  Thank you again for your prayers and God Bless

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Ross Bay on October 28, 2009 at 8:57 am

    Hey man
    I found sarcasm in kenya. I met this guy at Camp Lukenya and he had heaps of it to give away.
    He was a bit like a USA student so perhaps he was trained there.

    Keep the blog going. Its great to hear what you are up to

    God Bless you heaps
    Ross and Gaylene

    Reply

  2. Posted by Mumsie on October 29, 2009 at 11:31 am

    I am so impressed with how the Lord has made a way for you. There was so much ambiguity to what you were doing as you headed off to Africa for, perhaps two weeks or many months. God has begun a good work, He will continue it. Keep your nose in His back, following closely.
    I love you!

    Reply

  3. Posted by Jill Pittman on November 3, 2009 at 4:52 pm

    You’re such a guy Torrey! Few posts and no photos! Love you and miss you!

    Reply

  4. Posted by U Mark on November 6, 2009 at 2:26 am

    Hi To! Great thinking and reading that you’ve been doing. So much better than being a writer is being a pray-er. This is what I most often need but least often think to turn to. Glad to see you turning there. Lessons in patience now are helpful in helping build the patience we need later, but I think I’d really have trouble with the “pole pole” there. Go get ’em Torrey!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

