My Trip to Uganda

Life is good and this past week was no exception.  I do not start my internship until Monday August 3rd and so I have had a few weeks of free time.  With some of that time I seceded that I wanted to visit my sister Emily who is working in a clinic in Kampala Uganda.  I bought my ticket for the bus ride from Nairobi and left early in the morning at around 6:30.  As I sat on the bus for 12 hours I was entertained by a young toto, or child, that spoke very little English so we mostly just made faces at each other and played a few games for the duration of the bus ride. 

 I arrived in Kampala around 7:30 that night and waited only a little bit before I see this short little Red-head, my sister, coming up to greet me.  It was a lot of fun to catch up on the drive to the place that she was staying, and I had been thinking this whole time that I will be staying in a smaller house and would be an inconvenience to their family.  When we pulled up to the house I found out that it was quite that contrary.  We pulled up to a beautiful compound with rooms and food to spare.  I was glad to find that my little sister was well taken care of, but even more importantly for my own sake that she was being well fed.  I arrived just in time for dinner and it was fantastic meal of matoke, squashed bananas, which taste more like potatoes oddly enough, chapatti, and much more.

The next day I went with Emily to where she has been working for the past few weeks and found that she at times lives a very boring existence.  We spent part of the day touring a village and giving suggestion on sanitation, but the rest of the day we just sat in the clinic since Emily is not a nurse she cannot directly treat the patients.  However, it gave us plenty of time to catch up and talk about life.  The next day I took a matadu to the city and walked around seeing the sites and visiting an Internet café, as well as some tea.  It is a busy little city but much calmer in comparison to the intensity of Nairobi.  As I was traveling back that afternoon I rode a bota, which is a tiny little 125cc motorcycle that most of the people ride in Kampala.  You walk around and everyone yells “Hey Boss, Boss” and they want you to hop on their motorcycle and pay them to take you wherever you want to go.  After some negotiating on the price of the ride I hopped on for a fun little ride to my destination, where I met up with my sister and went to her home.

 The most exciting adventure I had while in Kampala was traveling to the source of the Nile River and going whitewater rafting with a group called Adrift.  We took a 2 hour bus ride to a city called Jinja and got geared up to hop in our raft with a guide named TUTU.  So we started out at the source of the Nile River.  This whitewater trip was different than anything I have been on.  The sheer mass of the water was insane!! Emily bought a disk of pictures so I will post those soon but these waves were some of the biggest I have seen ever.  We traveled on class 5+ rapids and our boat flipped two times while we were on the river.  It was the most exciting rapids I have ever been on.  We were all paddling and if we didn’t follow the instructions of our guide we would flip, so needless to say we followed as much as possible.  We made it to the end of the trip at the end of the day and we all agreed it was an experience of a lifetime!!  We finished the trip with some well-earned chapattis and drinks!  The Next day I got back on the bus to Nairobi where the bus was extremely dull, boring and extremely bumpy considering that most of the roads have huge potholes or are just dirt roads.  I arrived and Luke picked me up from the airport.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Aunt Sally on August 9, 2009 at 2:13 am

    So good to hear how you’re doing! I’m sure you’re glad about your internet access. We had such fun seeing Luke, Liesel and AJ!! Liesel told us cute stories about AJ calling you Uncle and telling on you to her. Peter is jealous and would love to come to Kenya, but where would he practice?

    WE MISS YOU!!

    Reply

  2. Posted by boo on August 20, 2009 at 10:59 am

    oh that sounds like such a great visit!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

